Tuesday back !

I’m back !

I left for CT on Saturday after my 6 mile run and got there around 6 pm. Probably sped a little en route… but no tickets yet 😉

Sunday was very lazy with Panera for breakfast (healthy oatmeal, and a not so healthy chocolate chip ‘muffie top’, but they’re so good I can never resist them…) and two movies in a row, Django unchained and Zero Dark Thirty. After all that exercising Le Boyfriend and I had dinner at a nice steak house, where everything was delicious… By the end of dinner, there was no way I could go on my run. Training plan fail.

Monday, Le Boyfriend got his wisdom teeth out in the morning… Loopiness and nonsense ensued post-anesthesia and a difficult operation. He was a trooper.

I got my Monday ‘cross-training’ from training with Echo, who is making good progress, but not quite where she should be at in obedience training. Here’s a picture of the trainer/her/me at training, kindly taken by Le wisdom-teeth-less Boyfriend:

Image

This quote from Saint Exupery (Le Petit Prince) is stuck in my mind in relation to Echo: “Tu deviens responsable pour toujours de ce que tu as apprivoisé” (You become responsible forever for what you have tamed)

She is truly growing a lot. Her face is starting to match her ears, and her whole body has thickened. She’s going to be a big dog, and has mounds of energy ! Two more weeks until the end of the training course !

This morning I drove back down to VA and, after unpacking and thawing for a bit, went back out for a run ! It was freezing cold (low 20’s), and I layered for my legs (2 layers), torso (3 layers), and head (2 layers). My i-pod died 2 minutes in, and unrelated or not, this was my fastest 3 mile yet: 28 minutes ! My first 3 miler two weeks ago was about 34 minutes so it was definitely encouraging to see some progress. I also used my Garmin Fenix’s alarm feature (vibrate + tone) to inform me of the half-way point, which was extremely convenient, instead of repeatedly checking distance. After the first mile I was feeling nice and toasty, and the wind even felt nice.  A few other stoic souls were out running.

Today was encouraging, and I’m going to focus on giving the training plan my best this week to really build up that base !

Leave your comments !

