Getting back up

On Saturday I completed my 4 mile run, and thought nothing of the slight pain I was experiencing on the outer edge of my right foot. On Sunday, I ran 2 miles on that sore foot. And Monday… Monday I was limping around the office. It seems I must have strained/pulled something on Saturday, and made it worse Sunday.

This is extremely frustrating so early on into my training plan, but I think the best thing to do is RICE (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation). This week was a series of 2 milers. Yesterday I skipped my cross-training, the elliptical or bike being just as painful as running. Today, no significant improvement yet, so I am also foregoing any running. I hope to be back on track this weekend, and be able to catch up on the training plan.

Failure is not falling down, but refusing to get back up.

I was bummed yesterday about this setback, but I’m back to blogging, and I hope to be back to training soon. I will be looking into getting new running shoes, maybe with a better fit after an assessment, to avoid further injuries.

Does anyone have recommendations on where to get fitted for running shoes ?

2 thoughts on “Getting back up

Leave your comments !

