Workout #1 !

Couch to 13.1 !

It’s a good day, it’s a good year. In 2013, I will be running 13.1 miles for the first time. Half-marathon registration, check !

I’ve been lurking in the shadows of healthy living and fitness blogs for too long, and after half-starting a few blogs all around, none of which survived past their first entry, this is the one !

I will be chronicling my activities, thoughts, and hopefully progress throughout the Couch-To-13.1 ten week plan I’ve decided to follow, courtesy of Fitness magazine. The ultimate goal: DC’s Rock n’ Roll half marathon, scheduled for March 16, 2013.

This is part of a bigger goal I’ve been pushing around since graduating from a master’s program in June 2012: get fit, get healthy.

In high school in France, PE was a joke. A few laps around a track, or a few kicks into a soccer ball didn’t do much for my fitness level. I ate a well balanced breakfast and dinner at home, sometimes indulging at lunch, but never really snacked much otherwise, and I stayed slim.

In college, the freshman 15 pounds crept up over 4 years. Late night ice-cream and dish sessions with my roommate were fantastic but not-so-healthy, especially in view of my sub-par gym attendance. Despite some walking around campus, and some frisbee with a new boyfriend, the late night snacks with said boyfriend meant that by senior year I was what people would call chubby.

Two years of stressful graduate school didn’t do much to help the weight. I started playing intramural ice-hockey frequently, but the daily ‘research-is-stressing-me-out’ food binges won overall. It didn’t help that a delicious bakery was conveniently located between my dorm and my office.

At graduation, I weighted 165lbs for my 5’5” frame. I got a job in DC working in the real world, and decided it was time to take health and fitness seriously. I cut down on carbs, sugar, and portion size. I biked indoors on my trainer, and started rock climbing. Over 3-4 months, I lost 30 lbs.

For the past 2 months, I’ve been plateau’ing at 135lbs, and this new half-marathon goal is just what I need to get in gear and get fit. In the process, I hope to

  • become a better blogger,
  • build up my fitness level,
  • reduce by body fat percentage, and
  • become a morning runner !

Today was day 1 of my training plan: Mondays are cross-training, which consists of 20-30 minutes on the bike or elliptical. Workout #1, check !

Here’s to a whole lot more workouts !

Image

Leave your comments !

